Public Tech-lations?

One thing I absolutely enjoy doing is going to concerts; not just any concert but concerts where one can dance and meet their favorite artists. My best friend Samantha encouraged me to go to local bailes (dances) because we both had the same interest in music. The first time I went, I felt so amused and motivated to create these events myself in the future. Thanks to the technology and visual arts displayed on paper, I got to get familiar with local events in my hometown, Grand Rapids Michigan. That’s where my immense passion of becoming a public relations manager began.

As a freshman in college, I have dipped my feet in water by taking at least one class into my major and I almost always mix what I learn in class with my dream job. Technology is strongly included in my major due to the emails, texting, and news media that is needed. Through technology, I will be able to promote my events on social media like Facebook, Snapchat, and Instagram. Although technology has many disadvantages that involve fake news, it also has the great advantage of promoting ideas across the country and even internationally. Currently, I am well aware of events happening in parts of Texas, California, Florida, and many more states across the United States.

Snapchat is a great social media application that helps me check out events in states like the ones mentioned above, and analyze how those events are set up. Another great benefit that Snapchat allows me to have is seeing the excitement on everyone’s faces. The reactions of the fans are great to watch because it motivates me on creating events for people in my hometown and I am sure that other publicists and promoters enjoy seeing their job come out in a positive way. This is a representation of how technology can work through the career of public relations.

Adding on to technology, flyers posted on the streets and shared posts on Facebook are a part of visual arts (paper and video version) involved in public relations. These flyers tend to be done by graphic designers or people who are just familiar with mixing band photos and information all into one piece of paper. Graphic designers benefit my major because it will expand my promotion locally: in stores, street corners, and online. This also helps draw attention to people in the local area and invite them to participate in the upcoming events. Personally, technology has made me go after this major of Public Relations because I want to bring excitement to my town. Videos shared online that promote a concert makes me want to go and get my tickets right away and that is what I want to do for people in Grand Rapids and the surroundings.

I am grateful of technology because the innovation on it is increasing and thanks to it I can see what goes around locally and around the world. Technology today is innovating immensely. Examples of some innovations are the robots (which was also displayed on the Sprint commercial) and the famous drones. We’ve seen the robot that flips around as well with the funny blooper at the end of the video, and if you haven’t, the video can be found below! Technology can bring entertainment and through my career, it will help me expand as a publicist.

So, what do you think of the innovations on technology? Will it benefit your career and/or how does it entertain you?

Leave a comment